Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2

by Into My Mind

After 10 years since the first film, the final films came out for one of the biggest blockbuster releases of the summer.   I myself had ordered the double featured for midnight release which had let me watch part 1 and part 2 for a mere 20 dollars.   I decided that after the movie craze had subsided that I would do a review of the movie.

The plot revolves Harry Potter and his friends Ronald Weasley and Hermione Granger setting out to find Lord Voldemort’s Horcruxes which are objects that contain a piece of the evil wizard’s soul.  They search around the wizarding world in order to find the pieces that harbor bits of his soul and destroy them so that Harry the chosen one could fulfill his destiny and finish off Voldemort.  The film has many action packed scenes as well as some touching scenes as well.  I especially enjoyed the fact that the score was perfect to the films tone of pace.

As I watched the film I noticed many things missing from the books that the movie did not include but, due to the fact that they showed the War of Hogwarts, I didn’t care as much as I should have.  Things in the movie that stood out were the literary elements that were presented.  Literature geeks praised as the battle of good and evil went all out and even cheered when side character Neville Longbottom pulled the sword out of the sorting hat in order to… oops I said too much.  That scene itself referenced King Arthur pulling the sword from the stone.  Daniel Racliffe (Potter), Emma Watson (Granger), & Rupert Grint (Weasley) finally closed a large part of their life after the conclusion of this film.  I was moved as well seeing as there were no future books and no future movies that I had nothing from my childhood to look forward to anymore.  It was the epilogue in book and film that reminded that Harry Potter will live in the future generation of children.